© 2019 Townsville Choral Society | Privacy PolicyContact Us

About Us

Who are we?


Townsville Choral Society originated in 1906 as the Townsville Musical Union. Over our 110 year history we've produced over 100 musicals and performed unmeasurable choral items to the public and for the Townsville community.

What do we do?


Our purpose is to study, teach and perform choral music and works with musical content, and to foster the development of the art and science of music.

We provide opportunities for amateur performers in Townsville and the surrounding North Queensland region to gain confidence through performance in musicals, cabaret nights, eisteddfods, festivals or concerts and various member only events.


Each year our Choir enters a variety of eisteddfodau items at the North Queensland Eisteddfod. This includes complex choral repertoire arranged for small ensemble groups as well as large choirs.


Our musical productions are known to be visually stunning while showcasing the excellence of local performers. Many of our patrons let us know when they enjoy our productions. We encourage you to read their reviews on Facebook.


To find out how you can get involved please contact us.



Who’s who?


PATRON: Councillor Jenny Hill Mayor of Townsville

PRESIDENT: Mrs Sonia Warrell


VICE PRESIDENTS: Ms Claire Davies and Ms Sandra Neal

SECRETARY: Ms Kiri Lucas – 0419 290 864 – Email the Secretary

TREASURER: Mr Brett Greenland – Email the Treasurer

Management Committee


Nick Cliff, Kieri Darrigan, Emma Higgins, Leo Hogan, Tim Honeyball, Deb Kelso, Amberley Robinson, Kym Wilson


Musical Director: Ms Rachel Cairns

Deputy Musical Director: Ms Claire Davies

Artistic Director: Ms Sandra Neal

Costume Hire: We are currently reviewing our costume stock and hiring processes and may not be able to hire at this time. 


LIFE MEMBERS:  Mesdames M. Allen, L Clancy, B. O’Connor, Kaye Hinds, Julie Dell, Vi Radcliffe

Mssrs J Findlay, R Hamilton, J. Pollock, N. Price, R. Wilson, Bob Hinds, Bill Radcliffe.

HONORARY MEMBERS: Mrs M Bolster, Dawn Wakelin, Terry Brown, Ron Theeuf, Pauline Buchanan, Jeanine Tegg, Rachel Cairns, Sandra Neal.